Life at Parkwood E-ACT Academy Life at Parkwood E-ACT Academy Life at Parkwood E-ACT Academy

Parkwood Academy

Y9 Meet The Team

Mr McGillan, the Year Leader for Year 9, is also a Teacher of Music. He has worked at Parkwood E-ACT Academy since joining as an NQT in 2012 and has had several pastoral roles within this time, included House Leader, Associate Director of SMSC and leading on work established within the school in partnership with Human Utopia.

Mr McGillan attended St Columb’s College studying Music, English Literature, Spanish and Religious Education. He continued his studies at the University of Ulster, receiving a 2.1 in BMus Music, where he was an accomplished performer, performing in several music ensembles such as the university choir, Jazz Big Band and new music groups that performed works from up-and-coming new composers, before completing his teacher training and receiving his PGCE from Nottingham Trent University where he was performing and touring with shows travelling between Ireland and London.

It is his belief that if we continuously challenge our students and have the highest expectations, they will strive to achieve their full potential and that when we clear our mind of can’t, that is when we truly begin to see outstanding progress.

Jackie Doughty has worked at Parkwood since January 2000. Her previous roles within the Academy are Teaching Assistant, Behaviour Manager and Head of House Air.

As a Year 9 Manager, she sees her role as guiding young people towards their chosen career by the way of helping them choose their options. She has an open door policy where by any student can ask for support and advise. No one is ever turned away.

To contact the Year 9 Team please email:

Sean.mcgillan@e-act.org.uk

Jackie.doughty@e-act.org.uk

Year 9 Tutors

Matthew Tyers 9MTY– matthew.tyres@e-act.org.uk

Katie Sewell 9KS – katie.sewell@e-act.org.uk

Zulekah Hussain 9ZH – zulekah.hussain@e-act.org.uk

Zoe Smart 9ZS – zoe.smart@e-act.org.uk

Connor Elliott 9CE – connor.elliott@e-act.org.uk

Ashwaq Abdulla 9LBA – ashwaq.abdulla@e-act.org.uk